CHOOSE YOUR IMPACT

You’re either going to Destroy or Save the World.

TLDR; The World Doesn’t Need Saving, Humanity Does.

Scott
2 min readJul 15, 2021

--

Back in the ’90s I studied Cybernetics, and my mother said “You’ll either create something that destroys the world or save it.”

Well, today I’m doing my best to lean more towards the save side of the boat. But I still have a problem with the “world” bit.

You see, I don’t think the world needs saving.

In fact, I don’t think the planet or biodiversity need “saving”.

Bear with me, this is why.

The planet has, and will continue to endure all sorts of changes and threats, until some kind of extraterrestrial threat bears down on it.

Life, has also endured immense variations of climates and environments that the planet has had to offer, and it will continue to do so — one way or another.

Now that’s the point.

Life and the planet will endure, the problem is unless we act swiftly, decisively and in unison they won’t survive in a way we recognise, and in fact we probably won’t be there to recognise it.

It’s not the planet nor biodiversity that needs saving. It’s humanity, and life-the-way-we-know it that needs saving.

I explain my thinking in more detail in this short video.

It’s not just me, but the UN Agrees too.

In a moment of serendipity, a few months after posting my video, a UN report was leaked that echoed the same sentiments:

Multi-layered Impact

My purpose with Well, That’s Interesting Tech! is to highlight those companies, leaders and technologies that are delivering positive, UN SDG related impacts to our world, environment and humanity.

With this focus, I aspire to help others amplify their impact, but my ambition to make a positive impact doesn’t stop there.

I started pledging to plant trees for all new subscribers, and have already planted several hectares.

Then I created a way anyone can have an impact, subscriber or not.

To choose which SDG you want to make an impact on, head over here (no sign up necessary):

Choose to make an impact today.

--

--

Scott

A techie at heart, who loves finding innovative tech and helping people understand what’s possible and what might come. https://wellthatsinteresting.tech